Legislators caution county leaders about ‘illusory’ surplus

PRIOR LAKE — More than 70 local officials recently packed into Prior Lake City Hall to discuss their priorities for the legislative session.

The Scott County Association for Leadership and Efficiency gathered to meet and lobby the seven Scott County legislators on SCALE priorities. Lawmakers from Prior Lake, Shakopee, Savage and other area committees attended.

The majority of SCALE’s priorities revolve around securing state funding for initiatives already partially funded by the county. SCALE wants the state to match investments in projects like updates to Highway 169, expanding workforce housing, youth training and the growth of county mental health services.

“I’m also really excited about the great dialogue so far that’s been going on between Democrats and Republicans and also between the Senate and House. We’re getting things done,” Tabke said. “I’m going at this the same way I did as mayor, which is with completely naive idealism to get things done, and I’m really looking forward to and excited about working with everyone new.”

2019 Scott County legislators and committee assignments

Representative Tony Albright, R-Prior Lake

An Assistant Minority Leader.

The Republican Lead on the House’s State Government Finance Division Committee.

Member of the House Health and Human Services Policy Committee, Rules and Legislative Administration Committee, and Ways and Means Committee.

Representative Hunter Cantrell, DFL-Savage

Member of the House Capital Investment Committee, Health and Human Services Finance Committee, and the Judiciary Finance and Civil Law Committee.

Representative Brad Tabke, DFL-Shakopee

Member of the House Agriculture and Food Finance and Policy Committee, the Commerce Committee, and the Corrections Committee.

Representative Bob Vogel, R-Elko New Market

Member of the House Government Operations Committee, Labor Committee, State and Government Finance Committee and Ways and Means Committee.

Senator Rich Draheim, R-Madison Lake

Vice Chair of the Senate Higher Education Finance and Policy Committee.

Member of the Senate Agriculture, Rural Development and Housing Finance Committee, Health and Human Services Finance and Policy Committee, and the Jobs and Economic Growth Finance and Policy Committee.

Senator Dan D. Hall, R-Burnsville

Chair of the Senate Local Government Committee.

Vice Chair of the Senate Judiciary and Public Safety Finance and Policy Committee.

Member of the Senate Transportation Finance and Policy Committee and Veterans Military Affairs Finance and Policy Committee.

Senator Eric R. Pratt, R-Prior Lake

An Assistant Senate Minority Leader.

Chair of the Senate Jobs and Economic Growth Committee.

Member of the Senate Commerce and Consumer Protection Committee, Energy and Utilities Committee, Finance Committee, and the Rules and Administration Committee.

Source Article